Sleep to dream

Having a baby can be a bit like falling in love; it can be quite unlike it, too. But that is a post for another time.

When Bean was a baby I spent a lot of time pacing and singing. She (and, okay, I) favoured female singer-songwriters in the wee hours, and I sang a lot of love songs to her.

One of our favourites was Kate Miller Heidke’s Space They Cannot Touch.

I wake up in the darkest night
Watch you breathe in shadow light
A perfect world lies next to me
And I don’t need to sleep to dream

I just hope I am good enough to keep you

Bean in Sling

I suppose our children don’t know that we’re still carrying their phantom sleeping selves against our breasts long after they have grown far too heavy.

1 Comment

Filed under Motherhood and Parenting, Music

One response to “Sleep to dream

  1. Silvia

    “I suppose our children don’t know that we’re still carrying their phantom sleeping selves against our breasts long after they have grown far too heavy.”
    A haunting, poetic image, with echoes of E.E.Cummings and Sylvia Plath.

Leave a Reply

